The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson

The girl with the dragon tattoo
Image by Pip via Flickr

Talk about dysfunctional families!  The Vangar family is the perfect picture of one.  Journalist, Mikael Blomkvist, hired to solve the mystery of  Harriet Vangar’s disappearance  forty years ago, is drawn into the family’s tragic secrets past and present.  Lisbeth Salander, a tattooed and pierced young woman, helps Blomkvist  search for answers with her amazing computer smarts and street wise ways.

The violence and evil brought to light is terrifying in its intensity and scope.  This is a murder mystery and love story that spans decades and continents.  As the characters face hidden parts of themselves and their world, the depths of  their cowardice and courage,  hatred and love are revealed.  Exciting and well written.

The saddest part of this story, which is part of a trilogy, is that Stieg Larsson died before publication of the series.  We have lost a wonderful talent.

5 thoughts on “The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson

  1. I am patiently waiting my turn (at the library) to read the next in the series. In my experience books are always better than the movie. Thanks for visiting.

  2. Book are usually better, but in this case I kinda thought the books were for like teen girls for some reason. I guess it was just the way someone described it that made me think that.

  3. Hi Patricia,
    Thanks for the visit today, and the compliment, but I must give credit to God, since He made me what and who I am. It is since He urged me to start a blog that I rediscovered how much I enjoy taking pictures of the world around me.

    Now I find that you do more than wonder! I am sure I will not read this book, as murder mysteries are not my cup of tea, but I enjoyed your review nonetheless.
    Blessings!

Comments are closed.